Phantom Boot & Baking Goals

20 Apr

Today marks day 2 without the boot.

For the last two months that damn thing has been the bane of my existence. I had to awkwardly shove my pant leg into it, hobble to and from work and when it rained, deal with a wet sock for the rest of the day. Complete joy.

My foot is still a little weak and isn’t back to 100% yet, but it is close enough to go all day in a regular shoe. Oddly enough, I still feel like I am wearing the boot at times. Like phantom leg syndrome or something.

Anyway, time to start Bing-ing (that’s right people, use Bing!) foot rehab exercises and stretches.

Also, I have decided that I’d like to become a good baker.

Not that I can actually eat any of the stuff I’d like to make, but I admire other’s baking skills and I love wearing aprons. Here is a list of things I’d like to master:

  • Cookies – peanut butter and nutella enhanced, as well as chocolate chip
  • Decorated sugar cookies for themed events
  • Apple pie baked in an apple (saw it on Pinterest)
  • Dessert squares
  • Cupcakes, also themed and decorated
  • Awesome paleo desserts that I can actually eat (that are not solely nuts and dates)

I don’t really care for cakes or pies or brownies, so I will mostly stick with the cookies, cupcakes and bars. I think this new skill will mostly benefit my bf, friends and dad, but should provide me with a good artistic outlet.

Here is my first baking trial: Rainbow m&m cookies

Giant M&M CookiesHow Sweet It Is
Makes 18 large cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 sticks (12 tablespoons) of salted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg plus 1 egg yolk, at room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups m&ms

PreheatĀ oven to 325F. Mix the flour and baking soda in a bowl and set aside. In another bowl, mix the butter and sugars until they are combined. Add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla and stir until mixed. Gradually add flour and mix until a dough forms – it will look crumbly at first, but it will come together. Fold in the m&m’s.

Shape dough into balls (roughly the size of large golf balls), and then pull each ball into two equal pieces with your hands. Turn each half so that the rough side of the half (what used to be the inside of the ball) faces upwards and then squish both halves together. Place the dough rough-side up on the baking sheet.

Bake for 11-14 minutes or until edges are slightly brown. The centers should be soft and puffy.

Here’s to trying not to burn down the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

