Swimming in the Dark

14 Aug

My morning swim was quite the adventure this morning, as half way through my 800 meter workout, the lights went out.

I stopped swimming momentarily, then decided to just keep going, as it caused the pool to empty out. It was a bit on the creepy side, but I didn’t have to share my lane with water joggers, so I figured it was a win.

Pre-workout, I enjoyed my new favorite snack: apple sauce with chia seeds and sprinkles and coffee.

Mmmm. Not sure where my random obsession with rainbow sprinkles has come from.

I also wanted to share one of my favorite crock pot recipes for pulled buffalo chicken. I got the original idea from canyoustayfordinner (one of my favorite blogs) and slightly altered it.

The original recipe can be found here, but this is my modified version:

(Picture from canyoustayfordinner)

Slow Cooker Mexican Pulled Chicken

  • 2 lbs chicken
  • 1 giant can tomato sauce (1 lb, I think)
  • garlic (3-4 cloves)
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tbsp red pepper flakes
  • 1-2 tbsps Frank’s hot buffalo sauce

Place chicken in slow cooker. Mix all spices into the tomato paste and completely cover the chicken. Cook on low for about 7 -8 hours.

It is a bit spicy, but not bad and I like to eat it in lettuce cups or in a bell pepper.

Enjoy!

One Response to “Swimming in the Dark”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Portobello Mushroom Pulled Chicken Sandwich « jerky and lycra - August 16, 2012

    […] 2-3 oz pulled chicken […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

