All That’s Missing Is the Boat

14 Mar

Anytime I think about boat shoes, I get images of southern frat boys in my head. Not sure why, but probably because of my friend growing up who was in a frat at the University of Georgia. He always wore boat shoes, sans socks, a polo and khaki shorts – The southern man’s uniform. I have yet to decide how I feel about this look.

However, I am about to jump on the bandwagon myself, minus the polo and khaki shorts. My latest love are Sperry’s. So comfortable and cute and they make me feel sophisticated. I have sent in my order to my new personal shopper, Ms. Mackenzie H., and am looking forward to having them on my feet soon. (once my damn walking boot is off, of course – post on this fashion eye sore to come soon).

So, without further ado, here they are:

This one is called the “Angelfish”, which a) I love and b) reminds me of a fond childhood memory of a ginormous fish tank my dad bought for my sister and I when we were little.

It was a salt water tank and had those little neon fish, a sucker fish, two angelfish and a couple other “filler” fish – ya know, the carnations of the fish world. Anyway, the angelfish were my favorite and they were the only ones in the tank that I personally named – probably something along the lines of Stripes and B&W – I was a super creative child…

Anyway, I loved those angelfish and was devasted to find one of them sucked into the air filter pipe, dead, and then two days later, the other one “sleeping” on the bottom of the tank. I put both of them in a little box and buried them in the side yard and said my goodbyes. Then, a day later, my piece of shit cat dug them up and ate them.

Moral of the story: cats are the devil.

Leave a Reply

