The Boot

21 Mar

Today marks the third week straight of wearing my walking boot, which I lovingly refer to as “the boot”.

In all honesty, I have hated wearing it and am slightly dreading the next two to three weeks I have left with it. At this point, I can wear running shoes for a couple hours a day, which has been a real saving grace.

Amidst all the complaining I have done, there actually have been a few benefits and up-sides to this eyesore. Here they are, in no particular order: when I wear a black boot on the other foot with black tights, people don’t notice the boot. It forced me to take time off CrossFit, join 24 Hour Fitness and get into swimming and biking. It made me to take a chill pill and actually do some pleasure reading.

Pleasure reading has included: A New Earth, by Eckhart Tolle. Really interesting. Now I want to read his other book, The Power of Now. Perfect books to read while recovering.

Anyways, all-in-all, good life lessons were learned – don’t wear bad running shoes, cross-training is important, rest days are also important and if you aren’t consuming dairy, take a calcium supplement.

Essentially, too much of a good thing can become a bad thing and I need to learn how to diversify my workouts and remember to stretch on my rest days.

In other news, I made these ham and egg cups again this morning. So good.

All you need ia 2 whole eggs, ham deli meat, a muffin pan and some olive oil. Bake at 400 degrees for about 10-15 minutes. Depending on what deli meat you use, they are about 80 calories each.

Leave a Reply

