Smoothies, the Acropolis and Macaroons

6 Apr

I finally broke down and bought a blender. The only other real appliance I have ever owned is a coffee maker, so I decided to expand my horizons.

Bottom line: this was a good life choice.

The other morning I experimented with spinach, 1/2 a banana, almond milk, almond butter and some frozen berries. It was delicious, around 240 calories and keeps you full for hours. Where has this been all my life? I even tested it on the bf and got further confirmation on it’s delightfulness.

Here is my $15.99 GLD (good life decision) from Target:

Apart from filling my life with fiber, I also have lots of travelling coming up. The most exciting of which is Greece.

After doing some research and price comparisons on hostels in downtown Athens, I decided to go with one of the most expensive, yet coolest looking and convenient of them all: Hotel Attalos.

I was a bit disappointed with myself for so quickly breaking away from my budget of $20/night, but upon seeing pictures and reading reviews, I got totally suckered in.

Also, I read two reviews for the other top two options: one saying “I got mugged here” and “the showers never work”, and the other saying “I paid in advance, showed up and it was closed due to renovation”. The choice seemed crystal clear after that.

Here is a picture of the rooftop bar that over looks the Acropolis.

Yep, totally worth it.

And with Easter two days away, here is an awesome recipe for a paleo dessert that actually feels like you are eating a “real” dessert.

Tropical Macaroons from Everydaypaleo.

You only need 4 eggs, shredded coconut, coconut milk, pineapple and coconut oil. They look great and only take about 20 minutes to make.

Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

