Eating Raw, Being 100% Smart & the Dirty Dozen

9 Apr

I wrote a post a while back about being 100% paleo about 80% of the time. Essentially, admitting to being paleo-ish.

Since then, I decided to put on my cavewoman pants and go strict. It’s been hard, but for the most part I have stuck with it (minus a beer, some black beans and toast) and within a week all bloating from gluten had disappeared and I feel so much better.

One thing I have noticed during this time is that I feel better after meals that require minimal cooking – basically, raw foods. A lunch of one bell pepper, a chicken breast, some almonds and raw carrots leaves me feeling satisfied and energetic.

I also found that I like meals composed of multiple, small, raw sides. This gives me more diversity and doesn’t fill up my stomach to the point of discomfort. Love it.

This got me thinking along the lines of trying a raw diet. What I found has been awesome and the recipes provide new textures and dips and sauces – the things that I miss most when following a paleo diet.

Currently, I really like rawmazing and choosingraw for recipes. Check out this recipe for zucchini humus.

Or this one for a spinach cashew spread.

Be still my heart.

These blogs lead be to a post about being “100% smart” about food choices, rather than 100% committed to a particular diet. What an awesome mindset and something that I’d definitely like to adopt myself. Think about the way something will affect your health, the way you feel, your energy, how you will sleep, etc. It makes sense that you are what you eat and if you eat crap, then your output will just be crap. (literally and figuratively)

This can be very life changing, as you no longer have to have “bad foods” or foods that you feel guilty about eating. Just eat for yourself. Enjoy what you are eating and eat for your own vitality. I can stick with that much better than I can to a list of “good” vs “bad” foods.

And lastly, this whole journey lead me to the discovery of the Dirty Dozens list. These are the foods with the highest concentrations of pesticides and the most important to buy organic. The top 12 include: apples, celery, strawberries, peaches, spinach, nectarines, grapes, sweet bell peppers, potatoes, blueberries, lettuce and kale.

Sweet, my entire diet is on the top 12 Dirty Dozens list. And I don’t buy organic.

I have been told by nutritionists that if you aren’t going to buy everything organic, at least buy the things that you eat most frequently organic. For me, this needs to includes meats, eggs, nuts, apples, peppers, spinach  and berries.

And with all that, I guess the lesson I have learned is that even when I am not being 100% paleo, I should always be 100% smart.

Leave a Reply

