Accountability & Gratitude

10 Apr

If I had to name my number one stumbling block when it comes to maintaining a paleo lifestyle, it would definitely be lack of sleep. Followed closely but not taking rest days and pushing my body too hard, too quickly.

That second part is something that I will focus on more once I get back to working out after my recovery. However, the sleep part is something that I need to focus on right now.

Last night I woke up at 2am and was wide awake. Then woke up again an hour later, and then again right before my alarm went off. This doesn’t happen all that often, but lately I haven’t been sleeping well.

This leads to a higher intake of coffee throughout my day and feeling ravished, which can mess with making wise food decisions and feeling like you need more calories than you actually do.

Step 1 for accountability: Sleep!

Additionally, I thought I would randomly list my daily food intake as a means to keep myself accountable for staying on track. So here is my food list for today:

Breakfast: Ridiculous amount of coffee with almond milk, 1 hard-boiled egg and 2 egg whites with 2 tbsp zucchini humus and a green smoothie (spinach, 1/2 banana, 3/4 apple, berries, 1/4 cup almond milk)

Snack: tall Americano with cream, peanut butter and dark chocolate almonds (not paleo, but sooo good)

Lunch: 4 oz. lean turkey meat with Frank’s hot sauce. 1 cup baby carrots, 1.5 cups celery

Snack: 2 oz. deli turkey meat, 1/2 cucumber, 1/4 cup cherry tomatoes

Dinner: 1 salmon patty, spinach salad with 1 bell pepper and oil and vinegar, 5 prunes

Accountability score for today: 6 out of 10

I definitely need to aim for more quality sleep, drink more water and cut back on my fruit and nut intake. As for exercise, while I am trying to take a few days off the foot, I should be stretching every day and working on my PT exercises. My goal is to be back in the gym on Wednesday doing weights and the bike.

While I am trying to keep myself accountable, I also want to keep myself grateful and not get carried away in the craziness of the day.

Here is my current list of gratitude:

  • My merit increase at work that I received 6 months ahead of schedule
  • The new purse that my mom bought me “just because” and the other randomly thoughtful things she does for me

  • The stack of folded post-it notes from the boy that each say one thing he loves about me
  • My skin biopsy wounds are almost completely healed!
  • My church devotional group starts tonight
  • Good friends that take me at my best and worst
  • My nephew stood on his own for the first time last night!

Listing the things I’ve got going for me always help to keep perspective. Like when I fell up the stairs in the metro station this morning – nbd, at least I am walking better than my 9.5-month-old nephew. Boo-yah!

Leave a Reply

