Paleo-ish Cookies & Ironman

30 Apr

My plan to take snapshots of my weekend and include them in a post kinda fell through, mostly because my phone is ghetto and I never remember to bring my camera with me.

Anyway, if I had taken some pics they would include: a lego building competition at my cabin, cooking burgers, watching the bf put on a wet suit and nearly go into cardiac arrest in the lake, bed bugs, meeting parents and 5 hr energy shots. All-in-all, I pretty eventful weekend (minus the bed bugs, but I’d rather not get into that).

Now I have a short work week, as I head down to St. George on Thursday to watch the bf compete in the Ironman.

I’m proud of all the training and dedication he has put into it and how well he has balanced his time over the last 6 months – which I consider an accomplishment all on its own.

To help him celebrate after the 14 or so torturous hours on Saturday, I want to make him these paleo-ish cookies:

I include the “ish” as they are mostly peanut butter and peanuts aren’t paleo. I am going to try a batch using almond butter too, but am expecting those to be super runny and thin. Updates to follow.

Here are the ingredients:

  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup honey
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

I also like to add a couple spoonfuls of coconut flour, coconut flakes and a small dash of vanilla.

Bake them at 350 for 10-15 minutes and set out to let cool. They take a while to harden, since the peanut butter makes them a little greasy, so I leave them out for 30-60 mins.

2 Responses to “Paleo-ish Cookies & Ironman”

  1. trialsinfood April 30, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    sounds like an eventful weekend. i would try to forget about the bed bugs too. these cookies look great! good luck to your bf on the ironman!

    • kchamp5 May 1, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

      Thanks! They are really good – so good, that I make sure to give them away as quickly as possible!

Leave a Reply

