Perspective and the Happy Dance

2 May

As of yesterday, I am now the proud owner of a Seattle Public Library card. Not sure why this makes me feel so scholarly, but it does and it also gives me free access to the world of Eckhart Tolle.

First book to check out: Stillness Speaks.

The book is essentially about how to live in the moment and move beyond your “ego” and attain peace in just being.

One of my biggest stumbling blocks is not truly living in the moment. I can get so caught up in my goals, future plans and the next thing on my to-do list, that I forget to just enjoy the moment. Here is an excerpt that really resonated with me:

“When you live through the ego, you always reduce the present moment to a means to an end. You live for the future, and when you achieve your goals, they don’t satisfy you, at least not for long.”

I really need to lock this into my memory, especially as my foot continues to heal and I get back onboard with a training schedule for a 10k, half marathon, triathlon, CrossFit, etc. Sometimes I get so caught up with the end goal, that I am not enjoying the run or pushing myself when I really should just take a rest day and hang out with friends.

This will also be a great way to avoid overtaining and resulting injuries.

In other news, I plan on adopting this Happy Dance from Seinfeld as my new personal greeting for friends. I may even fire it up at the airport tomorrow night when the bf comes to pick me up.

The Happy Dance

Leave a Reply

