Jump Roping & Sardines

2 Aug

Now that it’s been a little over 5 months since I fractured my foot, I decided that it’s time to stop babying it.

My goal is to add in a CorssFit-esque workout 3x/week, along with cardio and hip and leg strengthening. Oh, and do all this without breaking my foot again, or messing up my knee or any other general injury that I seem to acquire.

So yesterday I did the following jump rope exercise: 30 minutes total, repeat the following sets:

  • jump rope for 1 minute
  • ab work for 1 minute
  • jump rope 1 minute
  • push-ups 1 minute
  • jump rope 1 minute
  • wall sits or jump squats for 1 minute

It was awesome.

Then I added 15 minutes of hip exercises to help stabilize my knee and an hour of yoga. Really loving yoga currently. The teachers are always a little on the crazy side, but it’s really relaxing and has already helped with hip and overall flexibility.

With beets still on the mind, I made a beet and veggie smoothie for dinner, along with a few sardines and some barley.

Smoothie: 1 container plain non-fat Greek yogurt, 2 handfuls of spinach, kale, 5 frozen strawberries, 5 slices of canned beets and beet juice.

I’ve heard beet juice is a good recovery drink and helps prevent sore muscles. I’ve also heard that beer is a good recovery drink. I’d probably side with the beer loving folk.

Also, I am buying compression socks and sleeves tomorrow. I’ve read mixed reviews on whether they are necessary or not, but they come in hot pink and yellow, so I’m getting them anyway.

Leave a Reply

