My Non-Paleo Weekend

6 Aug

This weekend was awesome. It was the Sea Fair airshow and after spending nearly 6 hours taking my online boating safety certification on Friday, I was ready to boat captain it up!

After an extremely unproductive day at work on Friday, I got a strong urge to bake and to buy peanut butter – both are very strange urges for me. So my friend Tracy and I headed to the store and I ended up getting mostly non-paleo ingredients to make cookies, banana bread and frozen Greek yogurt.

All the recipes turned out tasting pretty good, except for the banana bread being a bit too moist (that is possible).

Blueberry Greek Yogurt Banana Bread

  • 1 1/2 cups = 3 tbsps gluten free flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 3 large bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 6 oz blueberry Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup blueberries

Mash the bananas in one bowl, mix dry ingredients in another. Then add all ingredients together, stir and pour in greased bread pan. Bake at 375 for about 30 mins. Mmmmm.

My phone is pretty ghetto, so the picture doesn’t do it justice.

The cookies were way more simple: 1 cup peanut butter, 1 cup honey, 1 tsp baking soda, 1 egg and about 1 cup rolled oats. Mix and bake at 375 for about 10-15 mins. I don’t have a picture of these, but they were amazing, and calorie dense.

The frozen Greek yogurt is pretty self explanatory. I added blueberries and some dark chocolate to plain non-fat Greek yogurt and froze it – delicious. I served this over apple rolled oats pancakes Sunday morning and I got some positive feedback.

(Picture borrowed from another site – I only wished mine looked this good)

Apple Rolled Oats Pancakes:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsps brown sugar

Mix all ingredients together and cook over low heat. I cooked them using coconut oil and I think that added a bit more flavor. The whole batch is about 350 calories between two people and went really nicely with the frozen Greek yogurt.

And lastly (and maybe the most exciting part of the weekend) – I bought compression socks!

I am really excited to try these bad boys out! Hoping they will help get my foot back into running shape so I can start working on the 10k in 40 mins plan.

Leave a Reply

