Chia Seeds & Zucchini Dip

7 Aug

Getting out of bed this morning was extremely difficult. I want to blame part of that to waking up around midnight to take off my compression socks and the other half to a horrible dream about someone breaking into my apartment by cutting a circle out of the front door with a kitchen knife. I swear I am ok to live alone…

Anyway, I forced myself to get up for my morning swim and had a glass of unsweetened almond milk with 1 tbsp of ground chia seeds. Energy from the chia seeds kicked in about 10 minutes into my swim and I didn’t feel like falling asleep in the shower afterwards – great success!

Today’s workout:

45 minutes in the pool at a moderate-fast pace, switching between sets of 4 laps of freestyle with 2 laps arms only (using a paddle board or water weight).

The best part is that I am finally starting to get the hang of it.

When I started swimming – maybe 3 months ago – I mostly stuck with the survival stroke and half the time looked like I was drowning. The whole breathing between strokes thing totally confused me and I inhaled so much water through my nose that I would get a sore throat. The other half I just looked like a creeper, as I watched other swimmers to study their technique.

However, it feels like I am closer to figuring it out and am starting to feel more confident in the water. Big win for today!

In other news, I am totally a fan of zucchini dip right now. Not sure why I like zucchinis so much, as they are pretty bland tasting, but they are cheap and for some reason I always buy them.

Zucchini Dip:

  • 2 zucchinis, sliced and diced
  • 2-3 tbsps chunky salsa
  • sliced jalapenos (from a can)
  • squirt of lime juice

Put everything in a blender and blend until smooth. I like to serve it over chicken or have it alone with barley and spinach, kind of like a soup.

That’s right, barley. A grain that is unacceptable on the Paleo diet. However, after more than 2 years of trying my best to avoid grains, I may have had a change of heart.

While I still believe that processed foods should be avoided and am not a fan of pastas or breads, I am coming around to grains like barley and quinoa. Both are excellent sources of fiber, produce slow released energy and give you that feeling of satisfaction that veggies alone can’t.

I can’t deny the benefits of eating strict Paleo but have decided that if your body is craving something or you are feeling tired or sick for no explainable reason, you are probably lacking variety and/or some type of nutrient.

Oh ya, and here is some info on chia seeds. I think they are awesome and a really great energy source to add to smoothies, soup, yogurt or almond milk. They help absorb water, have tons of omega-3 fatty acids and fiber. More info here. And here.

3 Responses to “Chia Seeds & Zucchini Dip”

  1. Sarah August 7, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    Now Kim, I’ve had trouble finding GROUND chia seeds. Where can I find those?

    • kchamp5 August 7, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

      I buy mine at Whole Foods and I think they are around $10 – about the same as the whole seeds.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I Eat, In A Nutshell « jerky and lycra - August 22, 2012

    […] 3 oz. baked chicken breast with 1/4 cup zucchini & salsa dip, 1 Portobello mushroom cap and a spinach salad with carrots, tomatoes and cucumbers with olive oil […]

Leave a Reply

