Bloody Hands

15 Aug

I woke up this morning with a strong urge to do a kettlebell workout. Odd, but I went with it and made up the following 40 minute circuit:

  • 500 m row (pull 2:15 or under)
  • Every minute, on the minute (EMOM) for 10 mins: 13 kettlebell swings each minute (rest the remainder of time) – only took about 30 secs each round with a 25 lb kettlebell
  • 500 m row

Then, I did two rounds of the following:

  • 50 sit ups
  • 50 squats
  • 50 push ups

And lastly, added in two rounds of 20 reps (on each side) of clamshell leg extensions, hip bridges and leg lifts, using a tension band for all.

I finished with 10 minutes of stretching and foam rolling. Overall, this took about 40 minutes and felt pretty darn good for a “rest” day.

The best part? I noticed after my second 500 m row that my palms were bleeding. Took me right back to my CrossFit days when I would leave blood on the pull up bar. Call me crazy, but that feels like success to me!

The second best part of my morning was watching a woman in her late 60s or 70s doing weight training and body weight exercises like it was no big deal. Her hair was completely gray/white, she wore a cute gym outfit and was definitely workin it. I found this extremely inspiring and I hope to do the same into my retirement years. Get it girl!

This week I am experimenting with sauerkraut.

I read an article by Jason Seib (an awesome CrossFit and Paleo buff) on everydaypaleo and decided that I could use some more probiotics in my life. Not only do I love the taste of sauerkraut, but I like the idea of taking probiotics in food form rather than through a pill.

My goal is to continue drinking Kombucha a couple times a week and throw in some sauerkraut with my morning eggs. Hoping to see some positive digestional changes – nothing that I will be sharing here, so not to worry.

The countdown to tonight’s yoga class is now officially on! Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

