Rest Day!

16 Aug

Upon getting out of bed this morning and walking to the coffee machine (yes, I am an addict), I realized that I was incredibly sore and had a huge blister on my left palm. Whoo, kettlebells!

I decided to fix my hand and let my body have a rest day. I went for a 30 minute walk and foam rolled my back – felt so good! Thinking that I may incorporate two “rest” days into my week on Mondays and Wednesdays, which will include a 30-45 minute walk and a yoga class.

After my post yesterday on speeding up your metabolism, my friend (and 1 loyal reader :)) told me she is currently taking a CoQ10 supplement for early heart disease prevention.

After some more research I learned that CoQ10 is created within the body to produce energy needed for cell growth and maintenance. It functions primarily as an antioxidant and protects the body from damage caused by harmful molecules.

I’m still not sure how they would put that in pill form and am assuming it is through some kind of synthesized lab process. But how about through food sources?

I found that it is not found in large quantities in food (recommend around 60-100mg daily), but can be found in these foods:

  • Oily Fish – salmon, herring, sardines, mackerel
  • Meats – most organ meats, but also in beef, which has 30mg in 2 lbs
  • Eggs
  • Peanuts
  • Wheat germ
  • Chicken
  • Canola oil
  • Almonds
  • Avocado

I also found that you start to produce less CoQ10 naturally in your 40s, so that is the time when you may want to consider adding the supplement to your daily routine.

For me, I think I will stick to including the above list of foods in my diet and aiming for about 20-30mg a day. I find this especially important, as CoQ10 can also aid in exercise recovery and repairing muscle tears.

Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

