What I Eat, In A Nutshell

22 Aug

Today has kinda been a cluster. And by kinda I mean it’s been a huge cluster.

Advertising is known for being a face-paced, dynamic career field and today was no different. Luckily I have one of the most awesome clients you could ask for and unfortunately, one of the most difficult media teams.

Anywho, I digress. My post today was meant to be snapshot into a day of eating and exercising, as requested by one of my friends. So, here goes.

This is a picture of my breakfast, lunch and snack for today:

Breakfast: delicious sandwich thin with 1 egg + 1 egg white, spinach and 1 wedge Laughing Cow light cheese with an apple (311 calories)

Lunch: 3 oz. baked chicken breast with 1/4 cup zucchini & salsa dip, 1 Portobello mushroom cap and a spinach salad with carrots, tomatoes and cucumbers with olive oil and vinegar (280-310 cals)

Snack: 6 oz. vanilla Greek yogurt w/ 1 kiwi (which, if you ask me, kinda leaves a soapy after-taste…I got my mouth washed out with soap manyatimes as a child….) (160 cals)

I also had a chocolate chip Fiber One bar. Mmmmm, fiber.

Now on to the workout part.

My day was supposed to start with a trip to the gym. However, upon waking up, all I want to do was drink my cup of crack coffee and play Sudoku in bed. (I know, I am a wild one!). So that’s what I did. Then, I completed a 35 minute glutes & shoulders workout:

3 Sets of 20 reps each of, using a band around your thighs:

  • clamshell leg extensions
  • hip bridges (1 set normal, 1 set with left leg up, 1 set with right leg up)
  • Side leg extensions
  • air squats
  • donkey kicks
  • push ups
  • bicep curls
  • should press
  • should raises
  • standing up bent over rows
  • bicycle crunches
  • butterfly sit ups

Tonight I will complete by actual workout for the day, which starts with a 500 m row, then EMOM (every minute on the minute) kettlebell swings for 10 minutes (13 swings/min) and finished with a 500 m row. I will follow that with 20-30 minutes of cardio cycling and then on to a yoga class, taught by the most awesome free-spirited woman ever.

Oh, and for dinner I will get extra fancy with a can of sardines, garnished with capers and garlic, with a 1/2 cup of barley and 1 cup steamed broccoli. this is right around 275 cals and makes my entire studio smell like Pike’s Place Market.

Namaste!

Leave a Reply

