30 Minutes of Bliss

23 Aug

I woke up this morning and went for a jog. It was amazing. It’s been since the beginning of February since I actually logged a legit run, so this morning felt glorious.

Now, when I say “run”, what I really mean is that I did intervals of 1 minute jogging, 1 minute walking for 30 minutes. Regardless, it was pain-free and felt so good to start my day that way. Plus, it was cold enough this morning to warrant the use of my black puffy vest – which is my favorite piece of outdoor clothing – so it made it all the better.

Amazingness.

Another delightful bit of news is that my friend, Sarah, is following the Couch to 5k plan I posted a while back and I get to do one of the workouts with her tonight! Excited that we can share this and proud that she is jumping onboard the running wagon – Get it, Sarah!

Now on to my breakfast:

Today I had a sandwich thin with egg salad (1 whole egg, 1 egg white, both hard-boiled and mixed with 1 wedge light Laughing Cow cheese) and avocado with an apple. Overall, this wasn’t all that exciting or delicious. Maybe the excitement of wheat has already worn off?

This weekend I am heading back to my family’s cabin and spending a couple days with my mom and grandma. It will be three generations of Welsh women and I guarantee I will be forced into playing hours of hot rum (aka rummy) and learning how to sew, but I’m still excited!

While there, I am going to make this summer cobb salad from Paleomg:

Looks so good and colorful! I may sub in spinach instead of arugula and turkey bacon rather than the real stuff. However, I don’t think I have had a peach all summer, so I am looking forward to that!

Happy Thursday!

2 Responses to “30 Minutes of Bliss”

  1. trialsinfood August 23, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

    feels good after a run doesn’t it? i haven’t ran since May when i did the 10k run for water. i was also following the couch to 5k when training for the 10k. don’t ask me the logic behind that; it worked nonetheless. the salad looks yummy! have fun at the cabin!

    • jerkyandlycra August 23, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

      Oh yes, I love that runner’s high! Glad to hear that the Couch to 5k plan works. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

