Wheat Report

27 Aug

For some reason I woke up this morning pumped that it was Monday. Not a typical reaction for me – probably because the bf will be in town in just 5 days!

On another note, it has now been a little over three weeks since I started adding wheat, grains and dairy back into my diet. At first, it was exciting to add new textures and I got a little extra kick of energy. However, since this inclusion, I have noticed a few changes: my skin broke out, my quality of sleep decreased, noticed some bloating (sexy) and overall just felt like a coat of “blah” came over me.

So, with that I will be cutting out wheat and grains again. Yes, it is a bit restrictive and annoying, but I am so much happier when I feel better and sticking to Paleo + some diary just seems to work better for me. I am keeping dairy, but limiting to Greek yogurt and some cheese a few times a week, as those side effects aren’t as severe and I want to keep some calcium in my diet.

Really glad I did this little experiment and also really looking forward to getting back to my normal, cavewoman self.

Now on to the weekend recap! Spent an awesome weekend in Shelton with the parents and grandma. My mom and her mom are so fun to see together, as they feed off each other’s positivity so well and it was great to spend some time hearing stories about their pasts. I got in a few good workouts – including a 60 minute walk/run (woot, woot!) and a lovely burpee/jump rope circuit – and went on a fun kayaking outing with my dad. Pictures to come tomorrow – get excited!

To celebrate my return to paleo, I will be making this cauliflower pizza this weekend (saving for the weekend because it takes FOREVER to make). Honestly one of the best pizzas you will ever eat.

Cauliflower Goat Cheese Pizza

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups cauliflower rice, steamed and strained (roughly 1 head of cauliflower)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/3 cup soft goat cheese (chevre)
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • pinch of sea salt

For the topping: I like mozzarella cheese, tomato sauce, basil and mushrooms, but chicken apple sausage is also really good.

The directions for this one are a little complicated and can be found here. Scroll to the bottom of the page for the condensed directions. I recommend starting the boiling and draining of the cauliflower the night before, as the total process took me about 3 hours and we ended up eating dinner around 11pm – we are so European!

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

