Anderson WOD and Balancing Perfectionism

29 Aug

Ever had a week were you felt like you were sleep walking? I know it’s only Wednesday, but my sleep bank must be really empty because even 8 hours of sleep each night doesn’t appear to be cutting it. Thank the Lord for coffee!

Today’s workout: 30 minutes on the stationary bike + the “Anderson” WOD.

“Anderson” WOD – As many rounds as possible (AMR) in 20 minutes:

  • 5 burpees
  • 10 push-ups
  • 15 sit-ups
  • 20 squats

After this morning’s workout, I made a kale and strawberry recovery smoothie, which actually wasn’t too bad. It contains 1/2 cup almond milk, 5 frozen strawberries, 3 oz. Greek vanilla yogurt, 1 cup kale and 1 cup spinach. The whole thing is about 120 calories and 6 grams of protein and you can’t really taste the kale (which I consider a positive).

Yoga was on the agenda for today, but my right shoulder is a wee bit sore, so I think I will have my own private stretching session at home instead. I also want to squeeze in a trip to one of my favorite places – Target! Sadly, this makes me more excited than I’d like to admit.

And lastly, some thoughts on perfectionism.

There is a lot of perfectionists in my family. My genius of a brother is and to some degree my dad is too. Well, I think I’ll throw myself in that category too. While this “quirk” is great in my career and helps give me a sharp eye for detail and stay organized, I think it may be a bit more harmful to my workouts and health routine.

This morning, for example, I only got through a little under 9 rounds of “Anderson”, when my goal was 10 or more. I got all bummed at the end of the 20 minutes and it wasn’t until the ride home that I realized that not even a month ago my left foot couldn’t take the pressure of a burpee or a standard push-up. I realized there was progress and success in what I did and while it wasn’t perfect, my body did it and I kept my form the whole time. This perfectionism makes me so competitive, even with myself, and one of my fitness goals moving forward will be to keep perspective and cut myself some slack when it comes to working out.

“A man would do nothing if he waited until he could do it so well that no one could find fault.”

– John Henry Newman.

“Once you accept the fact that you’re not perfect, then you develop some confidence.” – Rosalynn Carter

Word.

Two more days until the boy is in town – getting so excited! Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

