Baked Eggplant Fries

30 Aug

There is nothing better than working from home. You get to wake up, take your time working out and then work from home wearing whatever you want. I definitely think I could get used to this.

This morning I went for a 50 minute run/walk and spent 22 of those minutes running. I am trying to build up slowly and keep myself from getting over-excited and ramping too quickly. The goal is to add 10% more each week and increase the running intervals by 1-2 minutes in length each week. This will put me at 3 minutes running/1 minute walking my next Monday and then adding one additional run interval. Once I can run for 20 minutes consecutively with no foot or knee pain, then I will take out the walking intervals and increase my time by 10% each week. Really love that I can run again!

And now for a recipe that I’d like to try this weekend:

Baked Eggplant Fries

Ingredients:

  • 1 eggplant, cut into strips
  • 1/3 c. plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp. paprika
  • 1/4 tsp. ground
  • cumin
  • 2 tbsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 2 c. coconut flour

Preheat oven to 450. Cut eggplant into french fry strips and mix all other ingredients, minus the coconut flour. Dip eggplant strips in batter and then roll in the coconut flour. Place this on a baking sheet that has been sprayed with olive oil/non-stick spray. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown (which may be faster, depending on how awesome your oven is).

Original recipe can be found here.

Now I am off to the dentist – happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

