5Ks, Muscle Milk and Sleep

6 Sep

Is it just me, or does it seem like 5Ks are getting more and more expensive? I feel like in the past I paid between $15-$20 and got a race chip, bib and some over-sized t-shirt. However, now they are ranging from $40-$60, which just seems crazy.

The bf and I decided to spend our 1 yr anniversary in Cannon Beach (after a paid-for trip to Victoria fell through, thanks to the U.S. government) and found that there is a 5K beach race on the weekend we are there. I’ve only ever run on the beach once, so the idea sounded awesome, but the entry cost is $50, you are racing with kids and there is no beer involved. This to me does not seem worth it. Unless the t-shirt is really cool, then I may consider it…..I am such a sell out for “free” stuff.

Speaking of selling out, while at the store yesterday I caved and bought Muscle Milk.

In the past, I have been known to mock people who drink Muscle Milk and anytime I saw it at the store I would say “MUSCLE MILK!” out loud (in my sexiest body builder voice). Well, I guess now I am one of them.

I even wrote a post on not understanding protein powders and drinks. Seems like curiosity got the best of me. My thoughts are this: it’s only 100 calories, has tons of protein, can be blended with a banana, tastes pretty damn good and is really easy to throw in my gym bag so I can get my recovery fuel within 15 minutes of working out. Am I a sold believer? Not yet. Am I less of a hater? You betcha.

In other news, I tested my theory on waking up early and cutting down my morning routine today in order to get out of the house in 15 minutes of less – and it worked! I woke up at 5:40, started the coffee maker, made my bed, ate some apple sauce with chia seeds and got dressed. I then used the remaining 5 mins to roll-out my quads and IT-bands and headed out the door by 6am. Pat on the back moment.

My workout: Run/Walk intervals for 60 minutes. This includes 2 minutes of running with 1 minute of walking for 15 intervals, bringing me to a 30 minute overall run time. This weekend I am going to increase my running interval to 3 minutes and add another 30 minutes of walking, just to get my body use to covering more distance.

And lastly, some thoughts on sleep.

Sleep is definitely one thing that I need to improve in my life. Nearly every night I wake up at least once and have a hard time falling asleep. My guess is that since I FaceTime with the bf every night before bed, the bright screen tells my eyes to stay awake and the general excitement of talking to him gets me a little giddy.

With that, here are some things I am going to try to improve my sleep:

  • Open more windows for better air flow
  • Stretch for 15 minutes every night before bed
  • Drink tea 1 hr before bed to raise body temperature
  • Eat dinner before 7pm
  • Eat walnuts before bed (melatonin)

We’ll see if any of that helps and I’ll post my follow-up.

Happy Thursday!

3 Responses to “5Ks, Muscle Milk and Sleep”

  1. gormantr September 10, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    I love that you try and better yourself through sleep and exercise. Someone told me I might have sleep apnea, so I am eager to know how to sleep better. I am going to try these tips, for sure! I also LOVE that jump rope workout! It sounds intense, but you need intensity to achieve results ( I did insanity over the summer). And even though it’s expensive, I’m going to try Muscle Milk after lifting. Great posts so far!

    • jerkyandlycra September 10, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

      Glad you liked the jump rope circuit! One thing to caution on for the Muscle Milk (which I will write a follow-up post on) is if you have any bad reactions/allergies to dairy, do NOT drink it. I am sensitive to dairy and Muscle Milk has made me really sick over the last week. Just a heads up. Thanks for reading!

      • gormantr September 11, 2012 at 12:41 am #

        interesting. I feel like when I have a lot of protein my stomach feels bad. Luckily I’m fine with dairy, but thanks for the heads up!

Leave a Reply

