Hot Dogs and Pool Circuits

7 Sep

This morning when I got out of the bus tunnel, the whole city smelled like hot dogs. It was glorious. I know hot dogs are disgusting and made of God knows what, but they smell amazing and remind me of my business trips to New York when I’d get a hot dog or pretzel and walk around Central Park. Those were some good times.

This morning’s workout was a 60 minute swim and I’m feeling a nice burn in the shoulders and hip flexors. To mix it up a bit, I did a little pool circuit:

  • 200 meter warm-up – different stroke each lap
  • 200 meter freestyle
  • 100 meter kick-board
  • 200 meter freestyle
  • 100 meter arms only (water weight between ankles)
  • 200 meter freestyle
  • 100 meter kick-board
  • 200 meter freestyle
  • 100 meter arms only
  • 200 meter freestyle
  • 100 meter kick-board
  • 200 meter cool-down – switch between back stroke and breast stroke

The whole circuit is 2,000 meters and at a slower-ish pace takes about an hour.

For my recovery fuel, I made a Muscle Milk Smoothie: 1 container Muscle Milk light (vanilla), 1/2 a banana, 6 strawberries and ground chia seeds.

I haven’t been feeling my best lately and on Tuesday decided that I needed a bland, detox food week. My favorite things to eat when I am in this mode are soups and smoothies. Here is a soup that I made that really hits the spot:

Easy Chicken Barley Veggie Soup

  • 2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 tsp chicken soup flavoring (sodium free)
  • 1/2 cup barley
  • 1 cup frozen stir-fry veggies
  • pepper

Add it all in a pot and set on the stove top at medium for about 10-15 minutes.

Hoping to leave work around 4 today so I can get in a yoga class before the weekend and get nice and limber for tomorrow morning’s run.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

