Respecting the Liver and Cleanses

27 Sep

So what I failed to mention in my weekend recap post was the amount of crap that went into my body. From too much alcohol consumped in a 24-hour period, to two fast food meals (can you say sodium?), amazing cookies my friend made, chips, marshmallows and more. Usually, I avoid these things like the plague, but there is something about being on vacation that makes eating this “food” feel so special.

What isn’t special about this is how I feel for the following week. We were active nearly every minute of the trip – running on the beach and finishing a 5 mile run – so it wasn’t that my calorie count was out of control, but the richness and lack of nutrients in my food really did a number on my liver and intestinal system.

My sad little sick liver.

Why am I sharing this? Beside the fact that I have no filter, I think it’s important to remember that making these moments special doesn’t have to mean making your body pay. This will definitely be an eye-opener for me and the next time around I will stick to my regular diet and pick a couple small things to indulge in.

Now for the plan.

It’s thursday now and I am only 2 lbs away from my regular weight. I was 10 lbs heavier when I returned from the weekend trip (I wasn’t kidding about water retention and sodium!) and have been in a world of hurt. Bring on the cleanse!

One thing I need to note is that colon cleanses, flushes, liquid cleanses and the like are stupid, ineffective and mess with your body more. Just want to put that out there.

A cleanse that I do encourage is this: fresh fruits and veggies, lots of water with lemon juice, garlic, fish and protein shakes. Just whole foods that are easy to digest and help give your liver a break from working overtime to keep your system clean. Plus, tons of fiber!

With that being said, here is my cleanse plan for this weekend:

  • fruits and veggies will make up the majority of my meals
  • protein shakes w/ Sun Warrior (getting delivered this weekend!), almond milk, spinach, kale and strawberries – for snacks
  • TONS of water w/ lemon and decaffeinated green tea
  • Chick peas, black beans and sardines w/ garlic for protein (not paleo, but I want all the fiber I can get!)
  • Cut back on coffee (let’s be real, no coffee in my morning routine is just too depressing)

Mmmm, how good does that sound? I’ll also be going to yoga, taking walks and relaxing on my couch reading. I can’t wait!

And lastly, my workout today was a 6:1 run/walk and I ran for a total of 48 minutes, all hills and covered about 6 miles. I felt amazing! I finally got back into that runner’s zone, with Flo blasting in my ears and my legs leading the way. So nice to see this kind of progress!

One week from today I get to be in Cannon Beach!

Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

